3rd Degree's Archives and History

Minor Leagues
MLS Rules
MLS Table
All-Time Roster
U.S. Open Cup
Great Moments
First 11
Draft History

The 3rd Degree Awards are given out each year, following the regular season. 
The 3rd Degree Awards were created in 1998, except for the Spark award which was added this year.

Dallas Burn

Napalm Award: Most Valuable Player
2000: Ariel Graziani
1999: Jason Kries
1998: Jason Kries

Band-Aid Award: Best Midseason Addition
2000: Edmundo Rodriguez
1999: Ariel Graziani
1998: Chad Deering

Phoenix Award: Biggest Re-Birth
2000: Lazo Alavanja
1999: Matt Jordan
1998: Eric Dade

Spark Award: Best Rookie or Young Player
2000: Aleksey Korol
1999 Sergi Daniv
1998: not awarded

MLS Awards

2000: Clint Mathis, MetroStars
1999: Mauricio Cienfuegos, Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Marcelo Balboa, Colorado Rapids

Best Player:
2000: Mamadou Diallo, Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999: Joe-Max Moore, New England Revolution
1998: Brian McBride, Columbus Crew

Best Defender:
2000: Matt McKeon, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Matt McKeon, Colorado Rapids
1998: Luis Kubik, Chicago Fire

Best Goaltender:
2000: Tony Meola, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Matt Jordan, Dallas Burn
1998: Kevin Hartman , Los Angeles Galaxy

Rookie of the Year:
2000: Nick Garcia, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Richard Mulrooney, San Jose Clash 
1998: Leo Cullen, Miami Fusion

Best Mid Season pick up:
2000: Clint Mathis, MetroStars
1999: Raul Diaz Arce, Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998: Chad Deering, Dallas Burn

Trade of the Year:
2000: DaMarcus Beasley, Los Angeles Galaxy; for 2 1st Round Picks, Chicago Fire
1999: Matt McKeon, Colorado Rapids; for Chris Henderson, Kansas City Wizards
1998: Roy Lassiter, DC United; for Roy Wegerle, Tampa Bay Mutiny

Pack Your Bags Award:
2000: Lothar Matthaus, MetroStars
1999: Bora Milutinovic, MetroStars
1998: Eric Wynalda, San Jose Clash

Links Submission Policy Burn Email Letters Chat Room Message Board
Questions and Comments webmaster@3rddegree.net
Web Hosting by hays.net
Copyright 1997 to 2001 by A. Buzz Carrick